Quotes on Parents, children, Family and raising kids.


parents-and-children

Families are a link to the past &

A bridge to the future.

Sometimes, some of the simplest statements made can carry the deepest and the most impacting messages. Here are just a few about parenthood.

“It is not what you do for your children but WHAT YOU TAUGHT THEM TO DO FOR THEMSELVES, that will make them successful human beings.”   Ann Landers.

Bill Cosby generally says it, just like it is. Here he says on Fatherhood

You know, the only people who are always sure about the proper way to raise children ? Those who’ve never had any.

Being a mom myself, I have come to realize, nothing describes being a mom more than this thought by  Elizabeth Stone, which appeared in Readers Digest.

Making the decision to have a child ~ its momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body. “

How entirely true !!

By far, the one line I try to remember the most especially when I find my boys getting into a pickle is this one here by Catherine the Great, in “A man’s work is never done, by David Z. Nowell.

I praise loudly, I blame softly

The way we talk to our children, becomes their inner voice“.  Peggy O’mara  Also with the same thought is another line which says, ” Everything you say to your child is absorbed, catalogued and remembered ” !!!

” You should never sacrifice three things, your family, your heart and your dignity “.

“There is no one way to be a perfect mother, but a million ways to be a good one “

“To be in your children’s memories tomorrow, you have to be in their lives today” Anonymous.

If I had my child to raise all over again,
I’d build self-esteem first, and the house later.
I’d finger-paint more, and point the finger less.
I would do less correcting and more connecting.
I’d take my eyes off my watch, and watch with my eyes.
I’d take more hikes and fly more kites.
I’d stop playing serious, and seriously play.
I would run through more fields and gaze at more stars.
I’d do more hugging and less tugging.
~Diane Loomans, from “If I Had My Child To Raise Over Again”

Thank you for visiting me today.  I would love to hear if you liked these pearls of wisdom.

Kindly leave a comment to let me visit you as well.

Regards

4 thoughts on “Quotes on Parents, children, Family and raising kids.

  1. Thank you! I was looking for Quotes just like this. Thank you…Thank you! I love Billy Graham’s quote about ” a church where God is honored” I am looking for ways to do this and I have a book to share because we love it…so I thought I would just put it up for people…bringing young families together to do just that. “This Bible Talks!” by Pamela Fischer. Narrated by Michael David McGuire. Published by GM Books. http://www.thisbibletalks.com

    Thank you again for the post:)

  2. Love Billy Graham’s quote too –

    “The family should be a closely knit group. The home should be a self-contained shelter of security; a kind of school where life’s basic lessons are taught; and a kind of church where God is honored; a place where wholesome recreation and simple pleasures are enjoyed.”
    –Billy Graham, “My Answer,” syndicated newspaper column

  3. “It’s important to let our kids know we are aware of our inadequacies. Tell them. You have nothing to lose in honestly admitting to them that you didn’t do everything correctly as a parent. The admission may be the key to opening communication and beginning the process of healing your relationships with your kids.”

    –Stephen Arterburn and Jim Burns, When Love is not Enough

    I like this quote a lot! I believe that our children should also know that we, as parents, are not perfect. We may even have made the same mistakes as they did or even more. By expressing to them those same mistakes, it allows them to know that they can open up to us more.

    Thank you Naush!

Leave a Reply

