Smart boys ~ Growing up : growing wiser


In the past few months we had noticed the boys were begining to get very edgy and possessive. I presumed it had to do with growing up and being boys, but sam decided to give them a small talk and lay out a few rules before someone really got hurt. So one of those rules was :  Once we gave our brothers or friends, a gift, we dont ask it back. It shows dishonour and disrespect. The boys have held back on this rule for weeks now, which I am pleased to say has been very sucessful …………. Until ………… until two days back,  While folding the laundry in my bedroom,  I could clearly hear a very formal conversation between the three of them. (strange how they can speak so loud to each other and expect Mom wont hear it !! )

A little about my Actors :

Bilal : 9 yrs                Sawaab : 7yrs                 Eman : 6 yrs

Sawaab ” Eman,  That station ( presumeably the new traffic station I got them  — TO SHARE ) doesn’t only belong to you. Mama got it for everyone,”

Eman being very defence, ” oh ya ? Well Bilal said I could have it if I gave him my Action Man”

A moments pause, while Bilal decides how he justifies his stand, ” Look sawaab, Eman is small and he can play with it, what do we need it for anyways ? 

At this point let me advise you that the difference between Sawaab and Eman is just 11 months. Although sawaab is a more sporty kinda kid, he also has very similar toy tastes as Eman.

Eman trying to find a way to his advantage., ” Sawaab remember Abba said that we should not ask back a gift once we gave it ? ”

Sawaab found a brilliant clause in this, ” Yeah Eman, but that was about gifting it, but Bilal has not gifted it to you, he has traded it to you. In trading we can take back.  Besides, it belonged to all of us then how could Bilal give it to you ?”

Mother’s reaction : Stunned ! I leave my folding for a moment to think about what this little 7 year old just said !! This generation does not cease to amaze me !    Their intelligence and their spontaneity ! They have confidence and they know how to get the better half of the deal. 

The case never landed in my court for obvious reasons, Mom would cut off the whole deal and ask them all to share the toy.

But the clause to Abba’s rule was decided today. We dont take back a gift once given, BUT we CAN  if we are “TRADING TOYS ”

Naughty and nice

Naughty and nice

 

One or all of my boys are going to study Law or write the law !!!

They have just learnt the way to get out of a sticky situation by applying some witty clauses here !

This photo was taken at the Global village in December 2008 before the India trip. Sam bought them these guns, much to my disagreement. But then we do have a democracy rule in “such matters” and how could I win in a  1:4 ratio ?  Let them enjoy their treats.

Leave a Reply

