A poem for my children.


There are some times in life when we find ourselves rather helpless. We want the best for those we love, yet destiny has a different story laid out for us. I stand at cross roads having to decide such critical decisions. I am not certain what the reperussions would be on my boys. 

In my confusion and despair, I felt inspired to pen my thoughts, before I knew it, it took shape of a poem. Its nearly after 20 years that I felt the pain to write a poem today. pain, coz I am one of those people who are inspire to write when hurt and create when happy.  Actually its less a poem but my wish, my hope, my prayer for my boys. A mother is the backbone of a family and she constantly has to remain strong. Sometimes I find myself drifting from my hopes and it scares me.

This poem is for my sons who are bonded for better or worse times, but struggle every single day to fight in this very perfect world.  

  They are all dyslexic.

 

My darling Son,

You are unique,

You are special,

You are capable of everything under the sun.

 

In everything you see, feel and show

You are clear yet unsure

 

My precious one, you will always have me beside you,

We will be brave and fight it thru

 

Darling son, don’t ever let them change you

For your disability is not a failure in you,

I know, struggle will always be your best friend

But better that, than silly boys to tend

 

Sensitive as you are

Mocked as you are

Believe in yourself, believe in me

At your feet, this world will be

 

Let your imagination soar

Let your creativity find its core

Your world is so much more beautiful

While ours full of  mean and ridicule   

You have to climb these biased mountains

No one else but you should be certain

 

You are special

You are gifted

You are God’s own chosen one

Use it to bring comfort to others

Use to show kindness to other brothers

 

I feel miserable when I see you lonely in your class

Then I feel perhaps its coz you are a class apart !

 

Don’t join the flock to be one of them

Make instead your own path

Believe that you have been sent down to fulfill a purpose

Be happy, be grateful, we have one another

It may seem difficult today but the road does go further

 

I am with you today in body

Tomorrow in spirit and perhaps

Another day only but in your prayers

Whenever where ever you are,

 Remember God’s chosen one, you are  

Leave a Reply

