Safa Park.

Last Wednesday was Manu’s annual sports day at Safa Park. He was so insistent that I attend, which I managed to easily skip for Bilal and sawaab. But not Manu. He insisted.

It was a very “happy” morning, with clouds looming and the rain had poured earlier that morning, so it smelled and looked so lush and green.

 So anyways while I was finding parking, as usual late, I realized how rarely we, as a family visit parks. Maybe its coz we have a large and beautiful park right infront of our house or maybe, living in a “DESERT” region, we are now more acclamatised to the MALL culture. Which ever, I loved the experience. Met with some other fantastic moms and completly enjoyed the morning.

It also took me to some 19 years back, when i had first arrived in Dubai and my brothers family wanted to take me out to Safa Park being the ” IN THING” those days. I remember, how my sister in law had gone on, about how far it was from town. Ironically I now reside 3 times further and Safa Park almost seems right in city now 🙂

How a city has grown !  One thing peculier I noticed was the park has all of the trees, grown in this region. oh and what I meant by that was that, generally a park would have alot of palm trees but here they had all the different types of arabian trees.

I promised my self to bring everyone in the family for a proper traditional picnic to safa park one of these days, inshallah.

Enjoy the pics.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Goody Bags for school.

This is one of the larger efforts that I put in every year around this time.  Gift packs for teachers and students in my boys’ classes.

So a large part of last week was spent making dozens of tags and wrapping the gifts. What was really special this year round,  was that I let the boys help me out with it and you know, as “ms perfecty” as I am, I really enjoyed letting them have fun in the process !  My boys chiped in happily and had a blast while at it   It was purely a team effort. 

This year we made alittle over 70 bags for students and 30 chocolate bars for teachers. .  I think the pictures explain everything

The gift tags are digi stamps except for just one of them which is handstamped. The small bags, I got in one of my trips to Malaysia. They are so cute. Wish I had got scores more ~ They are so handy.

Well from what I hear, there was a riot in their class, with kids actually wanting to trade in stuff,  to get their hands on those goody bags !!  Wow ~ The boys are so excieted and having a blast. Makes all that effort worth it all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.