Second Umrah 2011


I know, I havent been around for so long. Alot of events have happened, since March 2011. One of which was samie’s surgery and the other was our Umrah. I think, I’ll dedicate both of these different posts with pictures. However in the middle of all this, one thing that was sorely neglected, was the boys’ studies. Just havent been able to give them the kind of attention, I used to give them.

Last year, after sam’s operation, we wanted to perform Umrah.  I believe, Umrah/Haj is the best way to reinforce our deen and emaan, provided finances are available. Samie has been in relatively good health, except for the swelling in his right lower abdomin, which has been giving him cramps recently.  We decided to perform the Umrah while the boys had their spring holidays of 10 days. So on 30th March, we visited Jeddah and the additional joy, was that Sam’s sister, sheema was joining us with her family too for a couple of days. The trip per se, was tiring but the joy and calm and satisfaction is truly beyond words.

On the first day we arrived, we rested and since we were in Ahraam, performed our Umrah in the evening after Isha. The crowd was huge. BaituAllah was blessed with thousands upon thousands of pilgrims as always.  I dont remember a moment in our tawaaf’s around the Kaaba, when I was not crying like a baby in repentence, in gratitude, in sheer joy, feeling like, what have I done to deserve this huge gift from Allah swt !! Surely He knows best. Inspite of all the overwhelming feelings, I remembered to pray for every single person I had known !! All of my Ummah, all of my newly reverted sisters and brothers and all those specially chosen dae’s by Allah. I was so overjoyed that I remembered to make duas for  absolutely everyone from family, relative, neighbours, friends, collegues and even for the taxi driver who had dropped us !!! 

My main worry was Sam. I had been such a pain for the kids thru out the air travel, making sure the boys did not let sam carry any of the luggage but thankfully Sam complained of no pains thru out the Tawaaf and sahi. I did my sahi with Sheema.  The tiny book that I carried with the english translation and proper pronounciation made it easy to connect and “FEEL” what I was begging of Allah for.

This time, all the boys including Sam, decided to go bald naturally becoz  it is Afzal.

For those of you’ll who plan to visit or wish to know more about what to expect in a similar travel to Mecca, apart from sheer exhilaration. I must advise you to really wear comfortable slippers or sandals, carry a small bag to keep your slippers in everytime you visit the haram and try to leave atleast 20 minutes earlier than the salat time so as to find a place as forward as possible. In every corner of Haram, you will find abundance of drinking water “the blessed zam zam” so dont worry about water. Please remember to wear clean ~ comfortable clothes as opposed to silkish or synthetic fabrics. Ofcourse we wish to be presentable in Baituallah but one must also consider the heat especially since we women wear an abaya. 

I wish to share my beautiful experience in the most supremely majestic of all places in the world with you. Please do share if you have had any experiences as well.

Here are just some of the pictures of that memoriable trip :

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One thought on “Second Umrah 2011

  1. As salaam ,

    My name is arshiya & m frm Bangalore India . i read ur post on Umra Mashallah its so beautiful to be there I have nevr been to only in pics nad video i c all this ….by lookin at this i really feel to fly to such a calm place, do rem me in ur prayers ..and not but the least keep up the good work ur doing !!

Leave a Reply

