My son after me . . . .


The past couple of weeks have been full of doctors appointments and follow ups. I have been suffering from various small issues and so has hubby. Alot has been on my mind. I suppose children sense it easily when parents are stressed, upset or simply worried.

My youngest son, 9 years old Eman, has an amazing sense of humor and whats even more remarkable is his timing. He has confidence, he is methodical and he is witty. What a combination of extraordinary traits. Truly quite unlike how I was when I was as old as he is today !  If/when my folks were ill when I was young, I would really panic and hold onto my grandma for support and assurance.  These boys are really far more confident than me when I was old as them 🙂

Today when I was bringing back Eman from his after school activities, there was a silence for sometime from the back seat (quite unlike him) . Then he asked what really had me all mushy inside.

“Mama, what will happen to me, if you pass away ?”

A question every mother dreads yet answers always in the positive with alot of assurance lest her prized possession worries himself.  The question came out of a bolt and in the few seconds that I registered it and formed an appropriate answer in my mind, with “almost tears” building up in my eyes  .. .. ..

He continued to ask with serious concern in his voice, ” I mean, who’s going to teach me how to get a credit card or how to get a drivers licence.?????

It took me a few seconds more to zap back those tears and realize, he had ofcourse pulled off a loaded one on me !!! Kids, I tell you. What worries these little chaps have at age 9 !!!

When he was 7 years old, he has hurt his knee pretty bad, in a soccer game. While the nurse tended to him, without shedding a tear, he asked his class teacher a question, she related to me the following afternoon.  He asked her quite seriously, “Does that mean, its the end of my soccer career ?? Give me the truth Miss ”

We really had a laugh that day thinking of how my 7 year old worries about his soccer career !

Then on another occasion he was asked to sing a couple of songs for a bunch of relatives whom we were visiting in India, whom we knew rather briefly, just to break ice with them we encouraged him to sing a couple of english songs.  Ofcourse, he loves an audience and after his performance, he got a loud applause. He bowed down several times, and blew kisses at everybody saying “Thank you .. thank you … you are too kind … I love this audience. He must have been 7 then. His comments amazed them more than his songs did.

Such is my little son. A witty charmer. So I think, he’s going to do pretty well with me and even after me ! Inshallah.

Leave a Reply

